Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s not that I’m emotionless and insensitive.  I’m not the tin man.   I am just quick to think, buck up and get over it, and not, awe, you poor thing, tell me all about it.   People get a hair across their asses over the littlest things.  Yea, yea, I may not have cried when I saw E.T. the first time and my mom called me Hard, Hearted, Hannah because of that.  And yea when I was an infant I had to have tear duct surgery because according to mom, when I cried, I didn’t cry tears.  My ducts were clogged shut.  My ducts are now open and working just fine.  I swear I cry every time The Notebook is on. 

We are in full election season swing.  It’s high time to be shocked, awed, offended, outraged and opportunistic.  Last week President Obama commented on the Trayvon Martin shooting.  Amongst other things, he simply said, “If I had a son, he’d look like Trayvon.”  I came away thinking, what a heartfelt and somber reaction. 

In perfect election season form, Newt Gingrich (apparently he’s still running for President) fired back at the President.  “Is the president suggesting if it had been a white who had been shot, that would be OK because it wouldn’t look like him?”  Not to be outdone, Rick Santorum added his 2 American, traditional, Christian cents into the fray.  “What the president of the United States should do is try to bring people together, not use these types of horrible and tragic individual cases to try to drive a wedge in America,”

Wait what? 

Dude, I don't have a real heart and I feel that's out of line.

Again, I will reiterate that I am not the most sensitive person but how can someone think that?  This is a person’s worst instinct and these two are bringing it up and playing around with it like a toy. 

On my way to work this morning, I heard a thing on NPR about President Obama having to be very careful when addressing race in our nation.  I don’t understand why as a black man, he can’t address black people without the accusation of being divisive.

Why are people so afraid to have honest discussions about race?  Why certain things make people uncomfortable, why we keep up certain thoughts about different races.  Slavery is America’s original sin.  And events like electing American’s first black President show how far we’ve come.  And the shooting of Trayvon Martin show how we are still hindered by an old way of thinking.  Trayvon was a black kid in a hoodie walking in the rain and George Zimmerman thought he looked suspicious.  Why?  He thought he was on drugs?  Why?

