Tags

, , ,

Last night I was in the car headed to watch The Great Muppet Caper with the Masshole and a friend, when my phone rang.  It was my mom.  I had a feeling she had bad news if she was calling at 8:30 at night.  She called to tell me that my Mammaw had died.  She died at home, in her chair, one week to the day before her 100th birthday.  Her 100th birthday party was going to be the following Saturday. 

Mammaw kept my brother and I as kids.  She was not my biological grandmother but she always told me she felt like a grandma to me.  I felt the same way.  I felt like I knew her and loved her more than my biological grandmother. 

My mom said she would have been lost had it not been for her.  My mom immediately went to work after she had my brother and I, so Mammaw was there to help her. 

I was really looking forward to seeing her on her birthday.  Mom told me about her 100th birthday party about 6 months ago.   There are no guarantees and even though I had some worries that Mammaw wouldn’t make it long enough to see her birthday, I still thought I would see her.  I knew she would remember me and remark about how tall I was or how much she had shrunk.  She was a remarkable lady who saved my mom and was the grandmother I never had.

