Tags

, , , , , ,

Today marks one week on the wagon.  I won’t say I was an addict but it was a form of escape and distraction.  I have to thank Ericka Clay at Creative Liar for giving me that little kick I needed.  Plus I found a better distraction.

I decided to deactivate my Facebook account.  I didn’t labor over the decision.  I pulled the band-aid off quickly, with no hemming and hawing.  One day went by and it was easy.  Then a couple of days and boom it’s been a week!  I don’t miss it.  I don’t miss hearing about your baby’s eating habits.  I don’t miss knowing that you are thankful.  I don’t miss it when you proclaim to have the best girlfriend ever.  I surprisingly don’t miss any of it.  What is it about Facebook that turns people into big, steaming piles of turds?  

In the last week I’ve read Frankenstein or the Modern Prometheus which I’ve always wanted to read.  I’m halfway through Life of Pi.  I’ve got a smug sense of accomplishment.

All this being said, I think I have to reactivate my Facebook account.  Excuse me while I choke on my words.  I was at the gym last night and wanted a break from my audiobook.  I tried to create a radio station on my IHeartRadio app because I can’t use my Spotify account.  I can’t use my Spotify account because I log in using my Facebook credentials.  From user forums it seems you must have an active Facebook account to use the Spotify service.   Damn you Zuckerberg!!!  I broke free of your chains.

I’m taking a deep breath and re-animating my account because I miss my music.

 

