Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I try to not be an asshole.  Sometimes, it’s hard though.  

See, I really hate wasting money.  Or seeing money wasted.  Especially, when it’s wasted on me.  It’s especially hard around Christmas time.  

I’m a huge proponent of gift cards.  A lot of people think gift cards show a lack of effort.  I think quite the opposite.  I’m giving you the opportunity to get exactly what you want.  Gift giving can be hard.  Buying clothes for someone can be especially hard.  So why not just avoid the hassle of returning that furry purse you thought I wanted and give me a gift card.  

I’m not an economist by any means but I do enjoy the social study of personal economics.  The factors involved in attaching value to items based on personal experiences, emotions and needs is fascinating.  What gives something value to you?  When you are given the ability to buy exactly what you want the value of that gift card goes from 0 to 10.  I know I’m an Orlando Magic fan but the probability of me carrying a team purse is about one in never.  

Image

Thanks Uncle Larry! You shouldn’t have. No really. You shouldn’t have.

I heard a statistic this morning that 2/3rds of Americans will get gifts they don’t want.  Yes, I do love my cats but I don’t want their adorable little faces emblazoned onto a coffee mug.  But I would love a Target gift card, thank you!  

Image

Stop it. Just stop it.

And by no means do I want my face and/or my pet’s face lasered into a cube of glass.  

Image

What is wrong with you? Do you even know me?

Remember the next time you give someone a gift.  It’s not the thought that counts, it’s the gift.  Being thoughtful in the relationship with the person is what really counts.  

